A Plastic Grocery Bag & A Chunk of Cow

Several weeks ago, a neighbor rang our doorbell and handed us a fresh chunk of meat in a plastic grocery bag. No explanation. She just smiled, held it towards me, and I received it. We exchanged pleasantries, and she returned home. Perhaps you’re thinking, “No big deal. That happens to me all the time.” But more than likely you’re thinking, “What?!?”

I’ll have to admit that I never experienced that while growing up in rural North Carolina. The first time a neighbor stopped by with a bloody chunk of beef, I was incredibly confused. So I did what I do best. I asked a ton of questions of a ton of people. Here’s what I discovered.

These neighbors were celebrating the Holiday of Sacrifice, the Muslim holiday of thanksgiving for God’s blessings, specifically commemorating God’s provision of a substitute sacrifice in the place of Abraham’s son. The family that brought us meat had made significant financial sacrifices in order to purchase a cow. After it was slaughtered, they divided much of the meat among relatives, close friends, and the poor.

I can only assume that since we are not relatives and would not be considered “the poor,” this family’s gift to us signified friendship. Their generosity is especially significant, because they know we are not Muslims, and therefore we do not attach religious significance to this meat. They know that we will never offer a sacrifice and return the favor. Meat here is quite expensive. They could have shared these portions with other friends or neighbors, but they chose to show kindness to us, the foreigners. We are honored by their kindness, and by the kindness of those like them who have shared with us in the past.

In this season of Thanksgiving, I am especially thankful for kind and generous neighbors. For the many neighbors who have not shown prejudice towards the foreigners in their midst, but have welcomed us warmly. I hope to return this kindness by sharing some traditional Thanksgiving and Christmas treats with them during our upcoming holiday season. A cultural exchange of sorts. No bags of meat, though. We’ll stick to sweet bread and cookies!

This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment